Lawmakers in the state of Massachusetts are typically slow to embrace the rest of the nation’s tolerance attitude toward some substances. For example, the possession of marijuana can still land you in seriously hot water if you have not acquired a criminal defense attorney.
Still, even Massachusetts lawmakers cannot deny that possessing weed is far from the worst crime ever committed. As such, you might escape severe consequences if the authorities catch you with marijuana. Below you will find the most up-to-date information regarding cannabis possession and other drug charges. This information can help you when you and your lawyer are creating your criminal defense after an arrest.
Possessing up to one ounce of marijuana on your person is a civil offense resulting in a $100 fine and the mandatory surrender of the substance. Juvenile offenders (younger than 18 years) will suffer the same consequences as well as the mandatory completion of a drug awareness program.
Possessing more than one ounce of marijuana is a much more serious crime in the eyes of the law. Convicted offenders may face up to five years of imprisonment as well as a fine of up to $5,000.
The possession of heroin and other controlled substances is an even more serious offense. Defendants may spend up to a year behind bars and pay up to $2,000 in fines. Like marijuana, the more of the illicit substance you possess (heroin, cocaine, etc.) will mean more in fines and increased jail time.
Massachusetts is slowly catching up to the rest of the nation in terms of what substances are permitted for recreational use. However, you will still need a qualified legal advocate to help you escape the harshest penalties.